Top 10: Historical sites in the Eastern Cape

The children of the Eastern Cape welcome you.

1 The Nelson Mandela Museum

The displays highlight Nelson Mandela’s personal and political journey and include three sites in Mthatha, Mveso and Qunu. The Mandela exhibition from the Nelson Mandela Museum in Mthatha will be moved to the Qunu site. more

2 Graaff-Reinet

This quintessential Karoo town is officially the fourth oldest town in South Africa and boasts and impressive collection of historical buildings. It is also the birthplace of famous freedom fighter, Robert Sobukwe. more

3 The Red Location Museum, Port Elizabeth

Located in the Red Location shack settlement, this museum is a monument to South Africa’s struggle against apartheid and an interactive endeavour that serves the surrounding community. more

4 Voting Line Statue, Donkin Reserve, Port Elizabeth

Celebrating our first democratic elections in 1994, this metal cut-out statue also pays tribute to Nelson Mandela, first president and father of the New South Africa. more

5 Saartjie Baartman in Hankey

Saartjie Baartman, a Khoi woman who was paraded and died in Europe in the 1800s and whose remains were flown back to rest on a hill above Hankey, is the icon of the area.

6 Amathole Museum, King William's Town

Visit the famous hippo called Huberta who travelled long distances, see the Xhosa cultural displays and 1820 Settler memorabilia. more

7 Olive Schreiner Museum, Cradock

This famous author who wrote ‘The Story of an African Farm’ lived here in 1 of the oldest buildings in town, which has since been turned into a museum. more

8 East London Museum

The East London Museum is home of 'Old Four Legs' - the strange, prehistoric coelacanth - and to relics of the many ships wrecked along the Wild Coast. more

9 Cradock 4 Memorial Gardens

The history of the Cradock 4 is part of the anti-apartheid struggle legend. And a walk through Lingelihle township in Cradock reveals a new and uplifting spirit of ubuntu.

10 Albany Museum Complex, Grahamstown

This museum complex consists of 5 museums including the Natural Science Museum, the Observatory Museum, Provost Prison and Fort Selwyn. more