2 May 2015

New South African Tourism Board members announced

The Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom, has welcomed new appointees to the Board of South African Tourism.

Minister of Tourism Derek Hanekom

They were announced to Cabinet in a meeting on Wednesday 29 April 2015. The non-executive members of the South African Tourism Board are:

  • Vincent Mntambo (reappointed)
  • Graham Wood (reappointed)
  • Ayanda Ntsaluba (reappointed)
  • Thebe Ikalafeng (reappointed)
  • Chichi Maponya
  • Oregan Hoskins
  • Tanya Abrahamse
  • Iraj Abedian
  • Monhla Hlahla
  • Michelle Constant
  • Judy Nwokedi
  • Colin Bell
  • Amor Malan
  • Mmaditonki Setwaba

Hanekom said: 'I am very pleased with the selection of the new board, given their combined level of strategic leadership, governance, financial, business and tourism experience.

'Tourism is a force for change, and must take the lead in the sustainable and inclusive development of the country. We rely upon South African Tourism to position our beautiful South Africa as a prime tourist destination.'

The Tourism Business Council of South Africa said: 'We would like to congratulate all new members of the Board and wish them the very best in their endeavour of making South Africa a prime business and leisure tourist destination.'

Got a question?

Contact an SA expert in your region: