30 December 2011 by Roy Barford

Visit South Africa for rugby in 2012

Rugby fans who haven’t yet visited South Africa should make a point of doing so in 2012, a year of jam-packed fixtures around the country.

The Super 15 kicks off on February 24 and all 10 teams from Australia and New Zealand will be touring South Africa sometime between then and July 14, when the last round of group matches will be played, with the semis and final still to follow.

Browse the fixtures on the official Super Rugby website and start planning your trip to South Africa around that.

The five South African teams in Super rugby are: Sharks (Durban), Bulls (Pretoria), Lions (Johannesburg), Stormers (Cape Town) and Cheetahs (Bloemfontein). Book your match tickets as far in advance as possible, particularly for matches in Pretoria and Cape Town, which sell out quickly.

South Africa will also host 6 Test matches in 2012 - a 3-match series against England (Durban on June 9, Johannesburg on June 16 and Port Elizabeth on June 23) as well as a match against each of the Four Nations opponents: Argentina (Cape Town, August 25), Australia (Pretoria, September 29) and New Zealand (Soweto, October 6).

Visit the South African Rugby Union website for more information.

The above photo of Newlands in Cape Town is courtesy of Warren Rohner.

comments powered by Disqus