03 November 2011 by Dianne Tipping-Woods

Standard Bank Young Artists 2012

The 2012 Standard Bank Young Artist Award winners were announced in Johannesburg on 2 November. These awards are presented annually to young South African artists who are either on the threshold of national acclaim or whose artistic excellence has enabled them to make international breakthroughs.

“The Standard Bank Young Artist Award continues to remain South Africa’s most heralded accolade,” said National Arts Festival Director, Ismail Mahomed. “Bestowed to recognize and award excellence in the arts, the Award over the past 28 years has given added impetus to the careers and artistic voices of artists who have made strong idelible footprints in both the South African and the international arena,” he added.

The winners of the 2012 Standard Bank Young Artist Awards are:

Kelebogile (Pearl) Boikanyo for Music

Mikhael Subotzky for Visual Art

Princess Zinzi Mhlongo for Theatre

Bailey Snyman for Dance

Afrika Mkhize for Jazz

The awards are specifically aimed at supporting the artists to extend their profiles to South African audiences by providing them with financial support and a platform for experimentation at the National Arts Festival in Grahamstown (28 June - 8 July 2012), where each of the winners will be featured on the Main programme. The winners are also given various opportunities to represent South Africa on international stages as a result of their association with the award.

Previous Winners have included Andrew Buckland William Kentridge Mbongeni Ngema Johnny Clegg, Bonnie Ntshalintshali Sibongile Khumalo,  Sam Nhlengethwa , Victor Masondo Mncedisi Shabangu, Tutu Puone, Wim Botha, Sylvaine Strike Acty Tang, Nicholas Hlobo, Mamela Nyamza and Bokani Dyer, among many, many others.

As always, I’m looking forward to what the 2012 group of winners will produce. Well-done the artists and to Standard Bank for its continued support.


comments powered by Disqus