09 June 2011 by Roy Barford

South Africa vs Australia cricket 2011

The much-anticipated cricket series between South Africa and Australia will take place from October 13 to November 17. The series will comprise 2 T20 internationals, 3 One Day Internationals and 2 test matches.

Both teams are in a rebuilding phase, having under-performed at the 2011 Cricket World Cup. South Africa have a new coach in Gary Kirsten as well as a new limited overs captain in AB de Villiers, while Michael Clarke (pictured batting, photo courtesy of Zheng C) is Australia’s new captain in all forms of the game.

In the Ashes earlier this year, Australia were humiliated in front of their home crowd by England, who beat them 3-1 to retain cricket’s oldest trophy. They then failed to win the World Cup, having claimed the last 3 titles.

South Africa didn’t even make the semi-finals of the World Cup, being knocked out by the lesser-fancied New Zealand. Captain Graeme Smith did not endear himself to fans by failing to return to South Africa for a press conference and will have to win back the nation’s support.

Having 2 old rivals with so many critics to silence should make for excellent cricket. Some of the more exciting players to watch during the tour include Shane Watson, Mitchell Johnson, Ricky Ponting, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir as well as Clarke and De Villiers.

The tour fixtures are up on the Cricket South Africa website and travel plans can be made right away. Three matches will be played in Gauteng (Johannesburg and Pretoria) while Cape Town will host the first T20 and the first test, with Durban and Port Elizabeth each getting an ODI.

A 4-day tour match will be played in Potchfestroom, which is less than 2 hours’ drive from Johannesburg.

Tickets for all matches will be available through TicketPros.

comments powered by Disqus